BATTERSEA SOCIETY

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

16 March 2023

St Mary's Church, Battersea Church Road London SW11 3NA

Refreshments will be available from 6pm. The AGM will start at 6.30pm

AGENDA

- 1. Chair's welcome
- 2. Apologies for absence
- 3. To approve the minutes of the AGM held on 17 March 2022
- 4. To note the list of Officers and Trustees (see below)
- 5. To elect new Trustees
- 6. To approve the revised Constitution
- 7. To receive the Annual Accounts for 2022
- 8. To receive the Annual Report for 2022
- 9. Any other business

Officers serving in 2022

Chair and Secretary: Michael Jubb

Treasurer: Ian Beardall

Membership Secretary: Jenny Boehm

Trustees serving in 2022

Ian Beardall, Jenny Boehm, Clare Graham, Mark Hodgkinson, Michael Jubb, Sue Marshall, John Oughton, Carol Rahn, Jenny Sheridan, Barbara Simmonds.

Battersea Society AGM 2022

Minutes of Meeting held at

St Mary's Church at 6.30pm on Thursday 17 March 2022

Present There were 44 members in attendance.

1. Chair's welcome

The Chair welcomed all those present, noting that due to Covid 19, this was the first in-person AGM since 2019. The 2020 AGM was cancelled and the 2021 AGM was held on Zoom. She expressed gratitude for the good number of attendees in the continuing difficult circumstances. A number of trustees, members and indeed the planned speaker were unable to attend due to Covid.

2. Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from the following trustees: Michael Jubb, Sue Marshall, Duncan Parish, and the following other members: Caroline Booth, John Bowis, Vivien Minto, Sandra Ward, Peter Wolstenholme, Sally Orman, Duncan Parish, Margaret Jeffrey, Stephen Midlane, Rita Kelly, Wendy Deakins, Peter Deakins, Diana Macfarlane, Sara Turner, John Turner.

3. Minutes from 18 March 2021

The minutes of the 2021 AGM were approved.

4. 2021 Accounts

The Secretary reported that the Treasurer was unfortunately unable to attend the AGM at short notice. The accounts had been posted on the website with the calling papers for four weeks and there had been no queries to date; the Secretary would liaise with the Treasurer to verify that the Society's statutory obligations had been met.

5. Reappointment of trustees & officers under 3-year rotation

List of Trustees as of 17 March 2022

Ian Beardall, Sue Demont (standing down), Clare Graham, Michael Jubb, Sue Marshall, Sara Milne (standing down), John Oughton, Duncan Parish (standing down), Carol Rahn, Jenny Sheridan.

Co-opted to the Executive

Adrienne Carr (Minutes Secretary)

The Trustees offering themselves for re-appointment had been listed on the calling papers, namely Carol Rahn (3 years completed), Jenny Sheridan (6 years completed). Their reappointment was unanimously agreed.

The Treasurer was unanimously confirmed in office for another year. The Chair and Secretary were standing down. Arrangements were in hand to manage their succession, and these would be confirmed at the next Battersea Society Executive Committee on 25 April 2022 and communicated to members.

6. Election of new trustees (5 vacancies)

Three applicants had met the criteria and following individual meetings with the Chair and another continuing trustee, the meeting was asked to approve their appointments. A member asked whether they could see the application forms; the Secretary confirmed that copies were available at the meeting. The meeting approved the appointment of three new trustees as follows:

Barbara Simmonds, Plantation Wharf; nominated by Julia May Williams, seconded by Alex Stewart-Clark

Mark Hodgkinson, Battersea Park Road; nominated by Frances Radcliffe, seconded by Monica Tross

Jenny Boehm, Chatham Road; nominated by Elisabeth Brayne, seconded by Camilla Ween

7. Chair's Report

Jenny Sheridan, Chair, presented her Annual Report. This had been included in the calling papers. There were three questions / observations:

- In response to a member's question Jenny explained that for the next twelve months a cochairing arrangement would be in place, with one trustee chairing meetings and follow-up actions and the other dealing with correspondence and associated administrative activities.
- Cllr Tony Belton expressed gratitude for the incredible knowledge and hard work of the Society's Planning Committee and voiced his concern that this does not appear to lead to action by the Council Planning Committee.
- Jeanne Rathbone asked if the Trustees would consider holding an annual joint meeting on a borough-wide topic eg housing, as had happened in the past. This was noted. It was pointed out that there would shortly be a hustings for the local council elections with a special focus on attracting young people.

8. Committee Reports

The Chair of each committee gave a brief resume of their year's work based on their report. There were two additional points to note.

- Planning no additions
- Events the Chair offered her particular thanks to Sally Orman, Jeanne Rathbone, Cynthia Newman and Wendy Deakins.
- Open Spaces the Chair reported that since her report was written, Storm Eunice had caused damage to a number of Battersea's rare and beautiful trees. Enable believe that about 70 public trees were lost.
- Heritage no additions

There were a few questions related mainly to planning issues, and interested members were encouraged to speak to committee members directly.

9. Other Reports

• Website, Membership & Social Media – Carole Rahn gave a comprehensive report on the new website and membership systems. Duncan Parish was thanked in his absence for his excellent work in increasing the Society's reach through Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

• Battersea Matters – Jenny drew particular attention to the role the magazine plays in celebrating the lives of notable Battersea figures, including in the last year Harvey Heath and Maureen Larkin, both members, and the mural artist Brian Barnes.

10. Vote of Thanks and Closing Remarks

The Chair proposed a vote of thanks to the Trustees, the chairs and members of all the Committees. In particular, the Chair gave special thanks to the out-going Secretary, Sue Demont, who has been a wonderful secretary, working tirelessly to re-organise the affairs of the Society. She also thanked the Chair of the newly-constituted Community Committee, Mark Gitsham.

She also thanked Mike Roden for his work on communications and membership, all those members who deliver *Battersea Matters* by hand, Suzanne Perkins, designer of *Battersea Matters* and Adrienne Carr, minutes secretary.

Finally, Carol Rahn, made a presentation and brief speech thanking the Chair for her four years of chairing the Society with intelligence, dedication and love during one of the strangest and most difficult phases of the Society's life, due to the constraints imposed since March 2020 by the Covid 19 pandemic.

The AGM concluded at 7.30pm.

The AGM was due to be followed by a talk by Guest Speaker, Betsy Bletchley, Pioneer Minister in the Arts at Nine Elms, who unfortunately had to withdraw due to Covid. The Chair expressed thanks to Tony Belton and Penny Corfield for hosting, at short notice, an alternative – Secret Battersea Quiz, which was much appreciated by members.